Symphony 0 in Amsterdam

On october 30, Jacco Nefs will conduct ‘De Tramharmonie Amsterdam’ in their hometown. The program features Symphony 0 by Bart Picqueur.

The composer will conduct his own band before the intermission in Dvorak’s New World Symphony.

Ticket info


E-mail problems

Since quite some time apparently some e-mails did not arrive at

This problem should be solved right now, but in case of further trouble, please use

We apologize for this inconvenience



Great news ahead:

on 2nd 2016, Bart Picqueur will be conducting the Royal Band of the Belgian Guides in an all Belgium program, including his own Symphony N°0 ‘Phoenix ex cinere sum renascitur’ (Beriato/Hall Leonard) and Night in Venice by Wouter Lenaerts, featuring Cpt. Yves Segers as flute soloist



From now on, minor scale music will come up with a monthly special offer, putting one piece in the picture…

scroll naar beneden voor nederlands-talige versie van het bericht 

So here’s the promo for october 2014:

At purchase of any piece from the catalogue, you get the choral from “suite classique” for free!!! This choral is the 3rd movement from this suite, written for the youth band project of the “Union Musicale des Landes”, France,  last spring.

A plain melody with a colorful harmony, is presented by the clarinet choir (ad lib. by the organ), gradually building up towards an orchestral climax, ending in a reflective coda…

A demo will be posted soon

This offer is valid on all orders before november 1, midnight (CET)

Clearly the Choral can be ordered as a separate piece and the entire suite is available as well!



Promotie oktober 2014

Bij bestelling van een werk naar keuze uit de catalogus, krijgt u het koraal uit “Suite clasique” er gratis bovenop. Dit koraal is het 3e deel uit deze suite die werd gecomponeerd voor de jongerenstage van van de “Union Musicale des Landes”, Frankrijk, vorige lente.

Een eenvoudige melodie met een kleurrijke harmonisatie wordt voorgesteld door de klarinetsectie (of het orgel, indien voorradig), om stelselmatig op te bouwen naar een orkestrale climax, eindigend in een zacht mijmerend coda.

Een opname volgt asap

Dit aanbod is geldig voor alle bestellingen voor 1 november 2014, middernacht (CET)

Uiteraard kan u het koraal, of de hele suite ook op zichzelf bestellen. 

preparing for Chicago (part1)

Minor scale music is Bart’s corner for orchestral wind music, but for special occasions, we make special editions!

Yesterday was the first reading session for the new piece “Fiddler on the rocks”, for string orchestra, to be presented at the midwest convention in Chicago, next december. “Fiddler on the rocks” will be premiered by “Kamerorkest van de Kust’, the chamber orchestra of the Ostend conservatory.




18+ but don’t be afraid

A new page has been added to the site today.

Although the title suggests adult content, it is actually quite harmless poetry, presenting a work entitled: “What’s on a man’s mind”.

It was written for Westrode Percussion ensemble, conducted by Walter Van De Venne, and the Armenian soprano Hratsuhi Aramiam.

Their performance was worth a silver medal at the World Music Contest 2009, Kerkrade, Holland…

SUITE CLASSIQUE, l’as 2 pique

In April 2015, the new piece for the “union musicale des Landes” eventually got his name at the premiere in St. Vincent de Paul, France…

The orchestra, considered being “mother” of the piece, giving birth to the music choose the name “l’as 2 pique” (the ace of spades)… The composer being considered “father” added a more descriptive component: “suite classique”

The work consists of 5 movements, all based on the same 4 note motive. This motive giving unity to the variation in musical styles and characters.

The suite is meant to be a grade 4 piece, during approximately 15 minutes… some of the movements, such as the toccata or the choral are also suitable for independent execution…

find a sample here:


Stage UML

from 14 IV 2014 to 21 IV 2014 Bart Picqueur will be conducting at the annual band camp of the “Union Musicale des Landes”. Southwest of France.

80 young musicians, coached by 20 excellent instrumentalists will work an entire week and conclude with two concerts in the Dax region on Easter saturday and sunday.

Minor Scale Music pieces on the program are ‘Fanfares festives sur les fantasmes fantomatiques de Monsieur Maurice’ and ‘Histoires Landaises’ as well as a new composition, written for the occasion.



Thank you for visiting my website. I’m pleased to inform you about myself and my music. including contact info.

Here you will find all available information on my works published by minor scale music, as well as the ones available at the well known major scale company or others.

Any unanswered question…please send an e-mail to

A nice day to all of you, may music bring you love and joy!